After a non-call on Seattle Seahawks cornerback Richard Sherman that was considered to be a cheap shot by many on Buffalo Bills kicker, Dan Carpenter, Carpenter’s wife took to Twitter to vent her frustrations.

“I know what we do on the farm when a male can’t control his own rage #ActLikeAnAnimalGetTreatedLike1”

The Tweet was accompanied by a picture of a device used to castrate animals. Then, Sherman would respond to her Tweet with a humor:

Sherman hit Carpenter on the knee after being offsides, after the whistle blew in the latter end of the first half of Monday’s Bills-Seahawks game.

Kaela Carpenter then would write a few days later about her Tweet. She seemed to just explain her Tweet, rather than apologize for it.

“My attempt at humor during a heated and highly controversial NFL game has not been received the way I intended,” Carpenter wrote. “When I saw the out of control nature of the events that happened on the field, I jokingly wanted to relate it to life on the farm, where I grew up, and how it would have been handled there. Unfortunately, I did not realize that a tone of racism would dominate the response to what I intended to be a lighthearted defense of my husband. Regardless of the narrative that has been attached to my post, it was never intended to be related to race, or the disgusting hatred that creates the basis for racism.”

Sherman responded to her comments with a commentary about race:

It’s not surprising at all,” Sherman said on Wednesday. “This is a day in age where you’ve got Ku Klux Klan running around . . . you know, people say whatever they want and here’s very little consequence. For her to say something like that and then have a BS apology like she did, I mean, it’s just the way of the world. I don’t let it bother me. It’s something that I’m very used to. It’s just the way people are — the way people were raised.”

Sherman was then asked if he was saddened by Carpenter’s comments:

“It’s more disappointing than anything, but it’s also something that’s understandable,” Sherman said. “Ignorance has always been in the world. The core of this country has been built off slavery and people owning people. Anytime you understand that’s the core principles of the way a nation was built, then you’ve got to have some kind of, I guess, sympathy for it.”

What is your take on Carpenter’s apology?

 

Leave a Reply

