College basketball season is finally back!

The best way to kick off the season is with a power packed matchup. That is exactly what the case was on Tuesday, when the Maryland Terrapins faced off against their local rivals, the Georgetown Hoyas. There is a long and ugly history between these two teams that goes back to Lefty Driesell and John Thompson Sr.’s fallout back in the 80’s.

Maryland head coach Mark Turgeon, thought that he had cost his team a chance to win when he got a technical foul with 2:21 remaining in the game.

“I thought it hurt us,” Turgeon said. “It was a two-point game when it happened, all of a sudden we’re down eight or nine. I felt bad for the team, I felt like I let ’em down a little bit. In the end, we just kept playing and we got lucky.”

Then, Maryland  point guard, junior Melo Trimble, saved the Terps with a couple of free throws to put the Terps up 76-75. This was after Georgetown made a couple of boneheaded fouls and turnovers. Then freshman Kevin Huerter did something amazing:

“When he went up, to be honest, I said to myself, ‘Go straight up,’” Huerter said. “I was trying to avoid the contact, I thought he’d try to kind of lean in and go around. When I went up, I was mainly going to contest the shot and I kind of turned and blocked it I guess off the backboard.”

Turgeon went nuts after the game, jumping up and down:

https://twitter.com/dcsportsbog/status/798708726836428801/video/1

Trimble finished with 22 points, scoring 18 in the second half and freshman forward Justin Jackson poured in 17 points and seven rebounds for Maryland (2-0). Maryland dropped out of the top 25 for the first time in two years after a comeback win against American University on Friday.

What a game.

Leave a Reply

