drowning in these yellow ballons
friction sending shocks and shivers
from my head to my feet
a black cat skiddles across the surface

and brings about our demise
ripping through precious treasure
pop, crackle, a mother’s cry
on the east side
on the south side
over west

there’s cities drowning in bullets
and rivers of tears we’ve wept
so I pray into the sky
hoping that somebody’s there
that there’s a reason for my prayer
wishing that my prayers
aren’t just wishes
to the sky so infinite

this vinyl keeps spinning
spinning spinning
they say art imitates life
well shit
they must be right
the wear and tear
of this beautiful plight
is taking its toll
I just wanna know
where the light is

Leave a Reply

